The 90 Day Challenge, Day 18 – Trusting In Declared Innocence

“Answer me when I call to you, O God who declares me innocent. Free me from my troubles. Have mercy on me and hear my prayer.” -Psalm 4:1

Our court system is based on the person being innocent until proven guilty. In the court of God’s judgment we begin guilty and cannot be proven innocent. We can only be declared innocent by the work of God through Jesus that we receive by faith. The Psalmist trusts that God declares him innocent. Not in the future but now. What an awesome thing to place our trust. I know I am not innocent. I am guilty even by human standards. With God’s standard I am guilty as if breaking every declaration of God. But in Jesus I am made innocent.

When we trust in being declared innocent by Jesus we have confidence and joy to live life to the fullest. Through such trust we can move forward to serve God even if we have baggage. And with such trust we need not fear death for our declared innocence gives us the assurance of eternal life when Jesus returns!

Father, help me trust in what you have declared me to be rather than pulling back because of past failures.

JT

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment