The 90 Day Challenge, Day 17 – Trusting God’s Voice

“After he has gathered his own flock, he walks ahead of them, and they follow him because they know his voice.” -John 10:4

Isn’t it amazing how we know people by their voice in spite of all the people there are in the world? Someone calls and I recognize their voice. I have two brothers and I can distinguish their voices. I have friends I have not seen in years and yet I recognize their voice. How many of us could recognize a musical artist simply by hearing his or her voice?

In this verse we are given an awesome promise, well promises. Jesus promises to always go before us, and that we can know His voice when he speaks to us. What strength this lends to daily life when we trust that Jesus goes before us. Every circumstance we face, though some are surprises to us, He is already there and therefore at work. I can trust He goes before me.

And, I can trust that I can know His voice. How do we recognize the voices of others? Time with them. As we spend time with Jesus, in the Word, prayer, worship, bible study, serving Him, we learn to know his voice. We might use terms such as “felt led” or that “he gave us what we needed in our reading in the Bible today”. All of which points to knowing His voice. Does that mean we always get it right in knowing His voice? No, our sinful nature does get in the way at times. Yet in the times we failed to get his voice right we are in fact learning to recognize his voice.

So today, whatever you are facing trust that God has gone before you, and that He will speak and will guide you in knowing His voice.

Father, today I choose peace and joy in all circumstances because you are ahead of me already working, and you will speak and help me to know your voice.

J

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment