The 90 Day Challenge Day 31 – Trusting The Holy Spirit

“Peter replied, “Each of you must repent of your sins and turn to God, and be baptized in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. Then you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit.” -Acts 2:38

I trust traffic signs. I see a stop or yield sign, I trust I need to follow it. When on the highway I trust the exit signs for the road or town I need to take. I have missed turns but when I do it usually is I misunderstood the sign…

When it comes to the promises of God to the Christian do I trust them? Do I misunderstand and make a wrong turn? In Acts 2 we have the account of Pentecost – the giving of the Holy Spirit to believers in Jesus. The Spirit comes on the disciples, just as Jesus promised would happen. In this verse we are promised the Spirit will come to live in those who repent of sin, and turn to God through faith in Jesus. The result of the gift of the Spirit is the Spirit enabling those disciples to do all God wanted them to do in that moment. Likewise, for us who believe, the Spirit is given to us and is present within us to enable us to do all he wants us to do at any given moment. Do we trust in the Spirit leading us or do we rely on our own judgment? Do we trust the Spirit to work in and through our thought process or always second guess, or get paralyzed in making a decision? Do we trust the Spirit to enable us to be and do all God wants to do through us in any given moment? My willingness to trust in the presence of the Spirit from the moment of my salvation is essential. My willingness to trust the Spirit will always give me what I need to live for Jesus in any given situation is a breath of fresh air. Making the most of life depends on my trusting the Spirit present and at work in me…

Father thank you for the awesome gift of Your Spirit living in me!

JT

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment