The 90 Day Challenge, Day 20 – Trusting The News That Is Over The News

“But the LORD reigns forever, executing judgment from his throne. He will judge the world with justice and rule the nations with fairness.” -Psalm 9:7-8

Watching the news these days is hard. It depresses me, or grieves me, or makes me angry, or can leave me in despair. Except for one crucial truth I hang on to – God is still on the throne. God reigns forever, not just in the future when Jesus returns. God deals with the nations. So all the crime that goes unpunished; all the innocent lives killed, all of the hate and rise of antisemitism all of these things God deals with in His time and in His way. The God of the Bible rules the nations – now. Therefore, I will trust Him to make right what I can do so little about. I will trust that He will deal with nations both in our time and space, and when Jesus comes again and we all come before the judgment seat of Christ. I can trust God to do the right thing, rather than hoping men and nations will do the right thing. And, I will trust God has the authority to shape, and reshape, the thoughts and plans of those who lead the various nations of the world. Because I trust God is on the throne, I can let go of the anxiousness the news can bring to my heart and mind. I can live in peace….

Lord, quiet my heart and mind by trusting your authority over all the nations and universe as you rule from your throne in heaven even now.

JT

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment