The 90 Day Challenge, Day 15 – Trust & Powerless

“O our God, won’t you stop them? We are powerless against this mighty army that is about to attack us. We do not know what to do, but we are looking to you for help.” -2 Chronicles 20:12

Power tools require power. More than once I have been using multiple tools on a woodworking project and went to turn on a tool and it not be plugged in. Power tools are powerless without power. They need to be plugged into the right power source.

In some ways our life as Christians is like a power tool. We have to be connected to The Power Source – Jesus. Power and trust go together. In the above verse a large army is coming against the kingdom of Judah. The king in his prayer to seek guidance and help is willing to see himself, and all his resources, as powerless. To truly trust the Lord I/we must see ourselves as powerless. As long as we retain some sense of personal power our trust in the Lord is at best secondary. But genuine trust in the Lord must be primary, total.

God answered the prayer of the king and miraculously defeated the army without the king doing a thing to conquer the enemy. And all that happened because he was willing to see himself as powerless and in need of the power of God.

I am challenged to let go of my attempts at control. I am challenged to see and deal with everyday life from the perspective of being powerless – of looking to and trusting God for everything in my daily life.

Lord, may my trust in Your power in my life increase and my trust in my own power decrease.

JT

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment