The 90 Day Challenge, Day 25 – Trust Means It Is NOT About Me

“After saying all these things, Jesus looked up to heaven and said, “Father, the hour has come. Glorify your Son so he can give glory back to you.” -John 17:1

I think one of the most annoying things about cell phone usage is the person who is out in public with plenty of people around and they are talking with someone on speaker phone! And, why in the world do they do it with it on the loudest setting?! I don’t need to hear their conversation. I really do not want the distraction. But perhaps the most annoying to me is those engaged in this are the “it’s all about me” or “look at me, look at me” crowd. Much of our culture has encouraged us to do what’s best for me, or most convenient for me…

Jesus shatters this whole self-care concept in the opening words of his prayer in John 17. He prays to bring glory to God knowing that what is going to bring glory to God the Father is neither convenient nor about self-care. Bringing glory to God for Jesus meant suffering, abuse, pain, and death… slowly by crucifixion. And yet he still prays these words. Why? How? He trusts His Heavenly Father that what brings glory to Him will ultimately, though not immediately, will be for his good and ours.

When our praying truly trusts God we will be willing to pray not simply for what is best for us but for what will bring glory to God. And such a prayer means we are Willing to go down a path that may not be pleasant for a while, but will lead to God’s glory and our good. Trust is more concerned about bringing and giving glory to God in all aspects of our lives. Trust focuses on His glory, not just what I want.

Father, help me to seek, pray, and choose to live for Your glory in all things.

JT

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment