The 90 Day Challenge Day 78 – Hearing & Being His Voice

th

“As they were ministering to the Lord and fasting, the Holy Spirit said, Set apart for me Barnabas and Saul for the work I have called them to.” – Acts 13:2

How trusting are we, of the leading of the Holy Spirit? A group of men are gathered to worship and fast and pray. These men are all “prophets and teachers.” In the course of their time together these spiritual leaders are told by the Spirit to set apart Paul and Barnabas. Who did the Spirit speak to? All of them at once? One person speaks up and the Spirit confirms it in the others? We really do not know. My best guess is God spoke to these men about Paul and Barnabas. Certainly the lives of these two men were already headed in this direction. But other men became the affirmation of the Spirit.

Which leaves me thinking, How comfortable am I with the Spirit speaking through others about the direction and course of my life? Am I willing to trust the Spirit to speak through others? Like Paul and Barnabas, when the Spirit speaks through others on the course of my life, it is most often an affirmation of what the Spirit is already doing and speaking into my life.

On the flip side, I must also be willing for the Spirit to speak to and through me to others about what He wants to do in and through their lives. My words can be God’s means of affirming the direction of the life of another.

Papa, keep me open to receive from Your Spirit through others, and to be Your voice into the lives of others for Your glory.
JT

Readings for Day 79 – Joel 2:18-32, Ezekiel 36:22-30, John 16:5-15, Psalm 131, 2 Samuel 7-9

Leave a comment