The 90 Day Challenge – Day 71

“The king ordered his henchmen, Surround and kill the priests of God.” -1 Samuel 22:14

Saul was intent on killing David, though David remained loyal to the king. Saul orders the priests to be killed because they had given David bread and prayed with him. His men refused to kill the priests of God. They had enough reverence for God and his chosen priests to not kill them. But another man steps forward and kills the priests – 85 of them. As if that were not enough, all the people (men, women, children) and even the animals from the town where these priests came from were all killed! I just can’t get over the loss of life all because one man lost sight of God’s leading. Saul operated out of impulse instead of the leading of God. He acted out of self-interest rather than the will of God. And many people suffered for it.

It is a stern warning to watch out for self-interest in my life. Self-interest doesn’t just affect me, it affects others too. I must guard agains impulse decisions based on emotion or my own reasoning rather than God’s leading.

Lord, point out to me when self-interest or impulse has the upper hand in the choices I make.

JT

Leave a comment